Skip to main content

1860 United States Slave Schedules, Georgia

 Digital Collection
Collection number: 6405C63E-43A2-75BF-4F9A-AF72D44B8828
Georgia Counties, 1860
Georgia Counties, 1860


  • 1860

Scope and Contents

United States Slave Schedules 1860 for Georgia counties (and three Florida counties). Collected for the defunct Mary Turner Project Slave Census website and database project, circa 2014.

Includes excel spreadsheets of census transcriptions for the following Georgia counties: Berrien County, Brooks County, Bulloch County, Camden County, Clayton County, Coffee County, Colquitt County, Coffee County, Dade County, Early County, Echols County, Fannin County, Forsyth County, Habersham County, Haralson County, Irwin County, Johnson County, Lowndes County, Lumpkin County, Mitchell County, Montgomery County, Pulaski County, Rabun County, Tattnall County, Ware County, Wayne County, Worth County, Towns County, Union County

Collection also includes unpublished website and related files and a backup of the website and related files.


The Mary Turner Project is continuing to compile data for the site and plans to launch this free, fully searchable database by the end of the year. As an all volunteer initiative we are still in need of volunteers to help us digitize information. So please consider becoming part of the project and for more information on how to volunteer simply visit this link (it is a powerful way for students and classes to learn about U.S. slavery!).

Until the database is completed and fully functional you may download and exam the 1860 slavery data (in Microsoft Excel spreadsheet format) for individual Georgia counties as we get them finished and post them below. If you do not have Microsoft Excel software on your computer you may consider downloading and installing LibreOffice software which is free at this link. It will enable you to open and review the files.

[Source: Introduction]


36.44 Gigabytes ( 7/1/2021 1:08:55 PM ZIP archive .zip 36.44 GB 7/1/2021 1:05 PM 58 36.4 GB (39,124,646,348 bytes). 751 Files, 32 Folders.) : javascript 32; msword 104; pdf 329; 23; 2; 1; vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.spreadsheetml.sheet 85; vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.wordprocessingml.document 2; xhtml+xml 27; xml 2; x-shockwave-flash 3; zip 3; font/ttf 2; font/woff 2; font/woff2 2; image/gif 19; image/jpeg 128; image/png 32; image/svg+xml 2; image/vnd.adobe.photoshop 2; text/css 44; text/csv 1; text/html 16; text/plain 2; Grand Total 865;

Slave Schedule Counties

Alachua County (Fl.); Appling County (Ga.); Baker County (Ga.); Baldwin County (Ga.); Banks County (Ga.); Berrien County (Ga.); Bibb County (Ga.); Brooks County (Ga.); Bryan County (Ga.); Burke County (Ga.); Butts County (Ga.); Calhoun County (Ga.); Camden County (Ga.); Campbell County (Ga.); Carroll County (Ga.); Cass County (Ga.); Catoosa County (Ga.); Charlton County (Ga.); Chatham County (Ga.); Chattahoochee County (Ga.); Chattooga County (Ga.); Cherokee County (Ga.); Clarke County (Ga.); Clay County (Ga.); Clayton County (Ga.); Clinch County (Ga.); Cobb County (Ga.); Coffee County (Ga.); Colquitt County (Ga.); Columbia County (Ga.); Coweta County (Ga.); Crawford County (Ga.); Dade County (Ga.); Dawson County (Ga.); Decatur County (Ga.); Dekalb County (Ga.); Dooly County (Ga.); Dougherty County (Ga.); Early County (Ga.); Echols County (Ga.); Effingham County (Ga.); Elbert County (Ga.); Emanuel County (Ga.); Fannin County (Ga.); Fayette County (Ga.); Forsyth County (Ga.); Franklin County (Ga.); Fulton County (Ga.); Gilmer County (Ga.); Glascock County (Ga.); Glynn County (Ga.); Gordon County (Ga.); Gwinnett County (Ga.); Habersham County (Ga.); Hall County (Ga.); Haralson County (Ga.); Harris County (Ga.); Hart County (Ga.); Heard County (Ga.); Henry County (Ga.); Houston County (Ga.); Irwin County (Ga.); Jackson County (Ga.); Jasper County (Ga.); Jefferson County (Ga.); Johnson County (Ga.); Jones County (Ga.); Laurens County (Ga.); Lee County (Ga.); Liberty County (Ga.); Lincoln County (Ga.); Lowndes County (Ga.); Lumpkin County (Ga.); Macon County (Ga.); Madison County (Ga.); Marion County (Fl.); McIntosh County (Ga.); Milton County (Ga.); Mitchell County (Ga.); Monroe County (Ga.); Montgomery County (Ga.); Morgan County (Ga.); Murray County (Ga.); Muscogee County (Ga.); Nassau County (Fl.); Nassau County (Ga.); Newton County (Ga.); Olgethorpe County (Ga.); Paulding County (Ga.); Pickens County (Ga.); Pierce County (Ga.); Pike County (Ga.); Polk County (Ga.); Pulaski County (Ga.); Putnam County (Ga.); Quitman County (Ga.); Rabun County (Ga.); Randolph County (Ga.); Richmond County (Ga.); Schley County (Ga.); Screven County (Ga.); Spalding County (Ga.); Stewart County (Ga.); Sumter County (Ga.); Talbot County (Ga.); Taliaferro County (Ga.); Tattnall County (Ga.); Taylor County (Ga.); Telfair County (Ga.); Terrell County (Ga.); Thomas County (Ga.); Towns County (Ga.); Troup County (Ga.); Twiggs County (Ga.); Union County (Ga.); Upson County (Ga.); Walker County (Ga.); Walton County (Ga.); Ware County (Ga.); Warren County (Ga.); Washington County (Ga.); Wayne County (Ga.); Webster County (Ga.); White County (Ga.); Whitfield County (Ga.); Wilcox County (Ga.); Wilkes County (Ga.); Wilkinson County (Ga.); Worth County (Ga.);

Repository Details

Part of the Valdosta State University Archives and Special Collections Repository

Valdosta State University Archives, Odum Library
1500 N. Patterson St.
Valdosta GA 30601 United States
229-259-5055 (Fax)